St. Ansgar, Iowa August 10, 2020

The St. Ansgar Community School District is an Equal Employment Opportunity and Affirmative Action Educational Agency.

The Board of Directors of the St. Ansgar Community School District met in regular session in the Middle School Gym at 5:32 P.M.

Present: Directors Steve Groth, Will Morrow, Kyle Tabbert, Lindsey Falk, Tara Bork, and Lowana Hannam. Director Brumm participated via google meet. Superintendent Michael Crozier. Board Secretary Emily Johnson-Woods. Principal Scott Cakerice. Principal Lynn Baldus. Three guests were present.

Absent: None.

The meeting was called to order by President Groth. Falk moved, duly 2nd by Morrow, to approve the Agenda with the additional bills, personnel matters, contract, open enrollment and written communication. Ayes-Brumm, Morrow, Hannam, Bork, Tabbert, Falk, and Groth. Nays-None.

There were no citizens or organizations in attendance to address the board.

There were no written communications.

Administration Reports: Principal Cakerice commended his elementary teachers and their efforts to help with the ever changing rules and regulations of returning to school.

Principal Baldus discussed the survey results for the upcoming school year.

Superintendent Crozier updated the board on the back to school cleaning, and commended the custodians on their hard work taking on all the cleaning to get the school ready to return. Mr. Crozier discussed the bus route situation for the upcoming school year. He thanked Dana Heinen for his work in the bus barn to get the busses ready for the next school year.

Director Bork thanked everyone for their guidance and help with the Prom that took place this previous weekend. They worked closely with Public Health to ensure that the safety of the students was top priority. She appreciated all the parents help with the prom as well.

Director Tabbert would like to thank all the staff for their hard work during this whole pandemic.

Morrow moved, duly 2nd by Hannam, to approve the Consent Action Items which included the following:

- Minutes from the July 20, 2020 board meeting.
- July 2020 Financial Statements.
- July bills, including prepays in the amount of \$279,630.45.
- Payroll in the amount of \$441,453.65 for July.
- Approve the resignation of Scott Cakerice as Athletic Director for 2021-2022 School Year.
- Approve the TQ payment in the amount of \$1,000 to Connie Jenkins.
- Approve the TQ payment in the amount of \$660 to Lorie Hoeft.
- Approve offering Arlene Church a Cook Contract in the amount of \$14.22 per hour, waving the probation period. Arlene would work approximately 23.50 hours per week.
- Approve offering Pam Squier an amendment to her current contract to be approximately 25.25 hours per week being the same pay as previous contract per hour.
- Approve the Learning Connections payment in the amount of \$1,300 to Sue Loken.

- Approve offering Jay Jolly a part-time bus route contract in the amount of \$22.73 per hour during probation period, and \$23.74 after the probation period.
- Approve Lorie Hoeft's 4 hours of tutoring in the month of July.
- Accept the returned contract from Gary Fossey declining the part-time bus route offer.
- Approve the additional bills presented.
- Approve the Morningside Student Teacher Contract.
- Approve Learning Connections Contract
- Approve the resignation of Heather Esdohr as Para-Professional.

Ayes-Morrow, Hannam, Bork, Tabbert, Falk, Groth, and Brumm. Nays-None.

Bork moved, duly 2nd by Falk, to approve the Jr. Class, Football/Volleyball, German Club, Student Council, and FFA Fundraisers as presented in the packet. Ayes-Hannam, Bork, Tabbert, Falk, Groth, Brumm, and Morrow. Nays-None.

Bork moved, duly 2nd by Hannam, to approve the second reading of policy changes 409.1, 409.2, 409.3, 409.3E1, 409.3E2, 409.4E4, 409.3E5, 409.3E6, 409.3R1, 409.3R2, 414.10, 415, 501.9, and new policies 409.2E1, 409.2E2, 409.3E3, 501.9E1, 601.2, 604.11, 908, and 908.R1. Ayes- Bork, Tabbert, Falk, Groth, Brumm, Morrow, and Hannam. Nays-None.

Falk moved, duly 2nd by Tabbert, to approve the districts Return to Learn Plan and Learning Models . Ayes-Tabbert, Falk, Groth, Brumm, Morrow, Hannam, and Bork. Nays-None.

Morrow moved, duly 2nd by Falk, to approve the first reading of policy 106 and to renumber the prior policy 106 to 101.1. Ayes-Falk, Groth, Brumm, Morrow, Hannam, Bork, and Tabbert. Nays-None.

Morrow moved, duly 2nd by Falk, to approve the District's 2020 legislative priorities. The District chose Preschool, Mental Health, Teacher Recruitment and Licensure, and School Funding Policies as their priorities. Ayes-Groth, Brumm, Morrow, Hannam, Bork, Tabbert, and Falk. Nays-None.

Falk moved, duly 2nd by Tabbert, to approve appointing Director Bork as the IASB Delegate. Ayes-Brumm, Morrow, Hannam, Bork, Tabbert, Falk, and Groth. Nays-None.

Morrow moved, duly 2nd by Hannam, to appoint Theresa Van Sabben, HR as the Affirmative Action Coordinator. Ayes-Morrow, Hannam, Bork, Tabbert, Falk, Groth, and Brumm. Nays-None.

Bork moved, duly 2nd by Falk, to appoint Lynn Baldus as the Equity Coordinator. Ayes-Hannam, Bork, Tabbert, Falk, Groth, Brumm, and Morrow. Nays-None.

Falk moved, duly 2nd by Morrow, to appoint Lynn Baldus as the Title IX Coordinator. Ayes-Bork, Tabbert, Falk, Groth, Brumm, Morrow, and Hannam. Nays-None.

Hannam moved, duly 2nd by Morrow, to appoint Scott Cakerice as the 504 Coordinators. Ayes-Tabbert, Falk, Groth, Brumm, Morrow, Hannam, and Bork. Nays-None.

Falk moved, duly 2nd by Tabbert, to approve Lynn Baldus and Scott Cakerice as Level 1 Investigators, and Lance Schutjer, local Police Chief, as Level II investigators. Ayes-Falk, Groth, Brumm, Morrow, Hannam, Bork, and Tabbert. Nays-None.

Tabbert moved, duly 2nd Falk, to approve the student and coaches' handbooks for the 2020-2021 school year. Ayes- Groth, Brumm, Morrow, Hannam, Bork, Tabbert, and Falk. Nays-None.

Bork moved, duly 2^{nd} by Falk, to deny the open enrollment as they were not timely. Ayes- Brumm, Morrow, Hannam, Bork, Tabbert, Falk, and Groth. Nays-None.

The meeting adjourned at 6:51 P.M.

Attachments to the board minutes may be	viewed at the Board Secretary's Office.	There may be a charge for any copies
that are requested.		
Steve Groth, President	Emily Johnson-Woods, Board Secretar	ry